St. Mary’s adopts 10-year strategic plan

By Lois Ann Dort    
September 21 2016

SHERBROOKE – At last week’s regular council meeting, St. Mary’s councillors voted unanimously to adopt the St. Mary’s 2026--10 year strategic plan. Warden Michael Mosher said council and staff have been working on the formulation of the plan for over a year.

“It gives council direction over the next 10 years,” said Mosher, adding that the plan was developed through a consultative process involving municipal residents; a process which included public meetings and an online survey.

“Now that it has been adopted it will be available to the public and will be online,” Mosher told The Journal on Monday.

The five goals outlined in the plan are as follows:


  • increase the population of the Municipality of the District of St. Mary’s by five per cent by 2021.
  • increase the commercial assessment by five per cent and reduce the unemployment rate by 2026.
  • achieve financial and operational sustainability for the municipality.
  • improve the recognition of St. Mary’s.
  • be environmentally sustainable.


Each goal listed in the plan is followed by strategies meant to achieve the desired outcomes.

In other business, council passed a motion to increase the deed transfer tax from 1 to 1.25 per cent. Mosher said the increase is in line with small tax increases elsewhere. Such small increases he explained are necessary to eliminate the need for a steep rise in taxes in the future, “We like to manage it wisely; to keep it reasonable.”

Last week nominations were finalized for the October 15 Municipal and School Board elections. A list of nominees in the Municipality of the District of St. Mary’s and Strait Regional School Board follows:


  • District 1 – Councillor Debbie Findlay; Dennis Tate
  • District 2 – Councillor Michael Mosher (acclaimed)
  • District 4 – Councillor John F. Cameron; Beulah Malloy
  • District 5 – Councillor Rennie Beaver; Kaytland Smith
  • District 6 – Councillor Jacqueline Dort (acclaimed)
  • District 7 – Councillor Everett G. Baker; Shelley Bowen; Deborah Lutes
  • District 8 – Councillor Peggy Kaiser-Kirk (acclaimed)


School Board


  • Strait Region – Chelsea Burke (acclaimed)
  • African Nova Scotia Member – Joanne Reddick (acclaimed)
  • Member of Conseil Scolaire Acadien Provincial – Alfred M. Benoit (acclaimed)