MODG asks neighbouring municipalities to help fund recreation complex

By Lois Ann Dort    
September 21 2016

GUYSBOROUGH – The Municipality of the District of Guysborough has voted to ask for a helping hand from nearby municipalities in raising funds for the proposed Lifestyle Complex in Guysborough.

“Councillor George put forward a motion to write to other municipalities and request if they would care to cost share in our new Lifestyle Complex. Over the years council, the municipality, has supported numerous projects throughout the Strait Area,” said Warden Pitts noting MODG’s support for StFX’s Keating Centre, the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre, and the RecPlex in St. Mary’s. These facilities, said Pitts, are utilized by many MODG residents.

“We can extend the same offer to other neighbouring municipalities. We’ll extend use of our facilities to our neighbours as well as our residents,” he said.

As for other funding partners, Pitts said the federal infrastructure funding had not yet been announced for recreation facilities. “Needless to say both the federal government and the provincial government are fully aware of this project.”

Pitts also commented on the current election season where four out of eight council seats are contested, stating that he wished them all the best in their campaigns. Incumbents Miles MacDonald, Sheila Pelly, Fin Armsworthy and Rickey McLaren are all facing competition for council. Full nominee lists per district are as follows:


Council Nominations


  • District 1 – Miles MacDonald (incumbent) Ray Bates
  • District 2 – Sheila Pelly (incumbent); Mary Desmond
  • District 3 – Councillor Neil Decoff (acclaimed)
  • District 4 – Councillor Blair George (acclaimed)
  • District 5 – Deputy Warden Janet Peitzsche (acclaimed)
  • District 6 – Warden Vernon Pitts (acclaimed)
  • District 7 – Rickey McLaren (incumbent); Robert Young
  • District 8 – Fin Armsworthy (incumbent); Carl Bond Rhonda Bennett


School Board Nominations


  • District 9 – Rosalee Parker (acclaimed)
  • African Nova Scotian Member at Large – Joanne Reddick (acclaimed)