Nominations for Nova Scotia's Medal of Bravery are now open

February 7 2018

Nova Scotians are encouraged to nominate individuals who courageously put themselves at risk to help others.

"Every year, there are Nova Scotians who go above and beyond, risking their own safety to save the life or property of others," said Premier Stephen McNeil. "These people deserve to be recognized for their bravery. I encourage Nova Scotians to show their gratitude by nominating someone they know who is deserving of this award."

Nomination forms are available at Access Nova Scotia centres, as well as from offices of members of the legislative assembly and online at The deadline for nominations is May 1.

Acts of bravery that occurred on or after Jan. 1, 2015 are eligible for nomination.

An advisory panel, chaired by Hugh Laurence, will select the recipients. Other committee members are:


  • Paul Mason, acting executive director, Emergency Management Office
  • Debbie Brown, solicitor, Department of Justice
  • Fred Jeffers, Nova Scotia fire marshal
  • Chief Dave MacNeil, Truro Police Service, past president, Nova Scotia Chiefs of Police Association
  • Brigadier General C.J. Turenne, Canadian Armed Forces
  • Cynthia Stevenson, member at large
  • Jim Hoskins, member at large


Completed nomination forms should be sent to: Provincial Secretary, Medal of Bravery, Department of Justice, 7th floor, 1690 Hollis St., Halifax, N.S., B3J 2L6.